Guide · Malaysia
Refreshed 10/07/2026Zenoti alternatives in Malaysia
Written by PEKO Research Team.Last updated: 10/07/2026.
Published: 09/14/2026
Updated October 2026: PEKO is the better pick for most independent cafés, restaurants and service venues in Malaysia: guests earn by snapping any receipt with no POS integration, the whole table joins via Group Check-In, and an embedded AI Agent sets up vouchers and campaigns from one message, from free up to 300 members.
This page is for spa and salon chains in Malaysia weighing up whether to stay on Zenoti. It starts with who Zenoti genuinely suits, sets out the five reasons operators leave it (as fit and cost trade-offs, not faults) then compares 6 options with dated pricing sources and a switching checklist you can work through.
TL;DR
PEKO is the better pick for most independent cafés, restaurants and service venues in Malaysia: guests earn by snapping any receipt with no POS integration, the whole table joins via Group Check-In, and an embedded AI Agent sets up vouchers and campaigns from one message, from free up to 300 members. Choose Zenoti for malaysian spa and salon groups big enough to need memberships, prepaid packages, stock and payroll in one enterprise system with multi-branch reporting on top. For a ten-branch group with a head office, that consolidation is worth paying for. If Zenoti is not the right fit for your Malaysia venue, the 6 options worth shortlisting in 2026 are Zenoti, PEKO, Fresha, Booksy, StoreHub, Mulah. Zenoti itself stays on the list because keeping it is often the right answer. PEKO sits at #2 here, with its own limits stated. Every price below is either the vendor's own published figure checked on 14 Sep 2026 or the plain words "pricing not public".
Quick facts
- Summary
- PEKO is the better pick for most independent cafés, restaurants and service venues in Malaysia: guests earn by snapping any receipt with no POS integration, the whole table joins via Group Check-In, and an embedded AI Agent sets up vouchers and campaigns from one message, from free up to 300 members. Choose Zenoti for malaysian spa and salon groups big enough to need memberships, prepaid packages, stock and payroll in one enterprise system with multi-branch reporting on top. For a ten-branch group with a head office, that consolidation is worth paying for. If Zenoti is not the right fit for your Malaysia venue, the 6 options worth shortlisting in 2026 are Zenoti, PEKO, Fresha, Booksy, StoreHub, Mulah. Zenoti itself stays on the list because keeping it is often the right answer. PEKO sits at #2 here, with its own limits stated. Every price below is either the vendor's own published figure checked on 14 Sep 2026 or the plain words "pricing not public".
- Options compared
- Zenoti, PEKO, Fresha, Booksy, StoreHub, Mulah
- PEKO fits when
- Operators who want lapse prediction and written win-back without changing POS, and who want cash-paying guests counted too.
- Ecosystem
- PEKO (AI customer retention) + LOOP (AI POS for operations). Same company, use either on its own or both together.
Who it is genuinely good for
Zenoti is genuinely good for Malaysian spa and salon groups big enough to need memberships, prepaid packages, stock and payroll in one enterprise system with multi-branch reporting on top. For a ten-branch group with a head office, that consolidation is worth paying for.
Five reasons operators move on
1.No published price
Zenoti publishes no rate card, so budgeting starts with a quote. Get implementation and per-branch costs in writing before comparing.
2.Enterprise scope against ringgit budgets
Independent Malaysian salons often conclude the system is more than the business needs this year. A sizing decision, not a criticism of the product.
3.Rollout time
Migration, configuration and training take project weeks, which is hard when the shop needs a fix this month.
4.Cash and walk-in clients still need a way in
Any front-desk-led system only records the clients the front desk enters, and a lot of Malaysian trade never reaches it.
5.WhatsApp win-back is expected locally
Clients reply on WhatsApp, so groups want lapse messages written and sent there rather than as email campaigns.
- #1
Zenoti
Enterprise spa and salon management platform for multi-branch chains.
Best for: Chains of roughly ten branches and up that need memberships, packages, payroll and stock in one system.
Pricing: Quote only: Zenoti publishes no rate card, so pricing not public (checked 14 Sep 2026).
Who should not pick this: Wrong shape and wrong cost for a one or two-chair shop: implementation alone outweighs the gain.
- #2
PEKO
Receipt Scan Loyalty: Snap any receipt. Points land in seconds. · Group Check-In: The whole table joins, not just the one who pays. · AI-first operations (PEKO AI Agent): Prompt it. PEKO does it.
Best for: Operators who want lapse prediction and written win-back without changing POS, and who want cash-paying guests counted too.
Pricing: Free up to 300 members, then RM99/month; 0% commission; cancel anytime
Who should not pick this: Don't pick PEKO as your till or your booking calendar. It is neither, so keep the system that takes payment and rosters staff and add PEKO beside it. Don't expect a direct POS API either. Enrolment is customer-led by in-venue QR and receipt scan, which is exactly why it works on any POS. And with very few identified guests in the first weeks the churn model has little to read. The QR and receipt flow is what fills that gap, usually within a month of trading.
- #3
Fresha
Salon and spa booking calendar with a consumer marketplace, free to subscribe.
Best for: Salons, spas and barbers that need a strong calendar, deposits and marketplace discovery.
Pricing: Subscription-free core; monetised through card processing and new-client marketplace fees published on Fresha's own pricing page. Read the current percentages there rather than here (checked 14 Sep 2026).
Who should not pick this: Not for venues that want retention driven for them. Fresha books and reminds, but does not score who is drifting away.
- #4
Booksy
Booking app and consumer marketplace popular with barbers and independent stylists.
Best for: Barbers and solo stylists who want to be found in a consumer app and fill gaps in the diary.
Pricing: pricing not public for Malaysia and Singapore: Booksy publishes per-staff subscription rates in some markets but not these (checked 14 Sep 2026).
Who should not pick this: Not for F&B, and not for anyone unwilling to share their client list with a marketplace's own audience.
- #5
StoreHub
Malaysian POS suite with Beep cashback loyalty bundled into the till.
Best for: Operators buying a POS this year who want cashback, ordering and reporting from one vendor.
Pricing: Tiered POS subscription published on StoreHub's Malaysian pricing page, loyalty bundled into the plan rather than priced separately; Engage SMS from RM0.15 per message (checked 14 Sep 2026).
Who should not pick this: Not for venues staying on another till. The loyalty module needs StoreHub's own POS and does not travel.
- #6
Mulah
Malaysian rewards and SMS engagement platform built around QR registration.
Best for: Malaysian independents that mainly want QR sign-up and SMS blasts from a local vendor.
Pricing: pricing not public, no amount appears on Mulah's own site, so ask for a written quote including the per-SMS rate (checked 14 Sep 2026).
Who should not pick this: Not for multi-outlet groups needing documented behaviour across venues, or teams that want to compare prices before a call.
PEKO vs traditional loyalty CRM
| Topic | Traditional loyalty CRM | PEKO |
|---|---|---|
| Joining | Cashier asks for a phone number or the guest downloads an app | Guest snaps the receipt or scans the table QR; no cashier |
| Who becomes a member | Only the person who pays | Everyone at the table |
| POS | Integration project or a specific POS | Any POS that prints a receipt |
| Making a change | 10+ clicks across menus; staff need training | One message to the AI Agent; you approve |
| Win-back | Manual blasts when someone remembers | AI flags drifting regulars and drafts the win-back |
| Setup | Days to weeks (integration, training) | About 15 minutes, self-serve |
| Price | Monthly fee from day one, plus setup or per-message fees | Free up to 300 members, then RM99/month; 0% commission; cancel anytime |
| Your data | Sits with the vendor | Yours, export anytime |
Side-by-side comparison
| Criterion | PEKO | Zenoti |
|---|---|---|
| Earn by snapping any receipt (no POS integration) | Snap any receipt. Points land in seconds. Works with any POS that prints a receipt. | Not stated in the Zenoti sources on this page (Oct 2026) |
| Whole table joins (Group Check-In) | The whole table joins, not just the one who pays. 4 guests = 4 members. | Not stated in the Zenoti sources on this page (Oct 2026) |
| Change setup by chatting with an AI Agent | Prompt it. PEKO does it. Approval-gated: the Agent proposes, you decide. | Not stated in the Zenoti sources on this page (Oct 2026) |
| Setup time | About 15 minutes, self-serve | Not stated in the Zenoti sources on this page (Oct 2026) |
| Starting price | Free up to 300 members, then RM99/month; 0% commission; cancel anytime | Not stated in the Zenoti sources on this page (Oct 2026) |
Why owners switch from Zenoti to PEKO
1.Receipt Scan Loyalty: Snap any receipt. Points land in seconds.
Traditional loyalty CRM: Integration project or a specific POS. PEKO: Any POS that prints a receipt. Receipt Scan Loyalty →
2.Group Check-In: The whole table joins, not just the one who pays.
Traditional loyalty CRM: Only the person who pays. PEKO: Everyone at the table. Group Check-In →
3.AI-first operations (PEKO AI Agent): Prompt it. PEKO does it.
Traditional loyalty CRM: 10+ clicks across menus; staff need training. PEKO: One message to the AI Agent; you approve. AI-first operations (PEKO AI Agent) →
PEKO pricing: free up to 300 members, then RM99/month on the Standard plan, 0% commission, cancel anytime.
Side-by-side comparison
| Platform | Pricing (checked 14 Sep 2026) | Enrols without the cashier | Predicts who is lapsing | Messaging channel | Who should not pick it |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zenoti | Quote only: Zenoti publishes no rate card, so pricing not public (checked 14 Sep 2026). | At booking or front desk. | Marketing automation; churn scoring not published. | Email, SMS, app. | Wrong shape and wrong cost for a one or two-chair shop: implementation alone outweighs the gain. |
| PEKO | Free up to 300 members, then RM99/month (RM990/year) through RM399/month. 0% commission on orders (published pricing, checked 14 Sep 2026). | Yes: in-venue QR and receipt scan, no cashier step. | Yes: lapse scoring plus written win-back messages. | WhatsApp, at pass-through message cost. | Don't pick PEKO as your till or your booking calendar. It is neither, so keep the system that takes payment and rosters staff and add PEKO beside it. Don't expect a direct POS API either. Enrolment is customer-led by in-venue QR and receipt scan, which is exactly why it works on any POS. And with very few identified guests in the first weeks the churn model has little to read. The QR and receipt flow is what fills that gap, usually within a month of trading. |
| Fresha | Subscription-free core; monetised through card processing and new-client marketplace fees published on Fresha's own pricing page. Read the current percentages there rather than here (checked 14 Sep 2026). | At booking. | Not documented as churn scoring. | Email and SMS reminders. | Not for venues that want retention driven for them. Fresha books and reminds, but does not score who is drifting away. |
| Booksy | pricing not public for Malaysia and Singapore: Booksy publishes per-staff subscription rates in some markets but not these (checked 14 Sep 2026). | At booking. | Not documented as churn scoring. | App push and SMS reminders. | Not for F&B, and not for anyone unwilling to share their client list with a marketplace's own audience. |
| StoreHub | Tiered POS subscription published on StoreHub's Malaysian pricing page, loyalty bundled into the plan rather than priced separately; Engage SMS from RM0.15 per message (checked 14 Sep 2026). | Partly: QR-based Beep cashback flow. | Not documented as churn scoring. | SMS via Engage, Beep app push. | Not for venues staying on another till. The loyalty module needs StoreHub's own POS and does not travel. |
| Mulah | pricing not public, no amount appears on Mulah's own site, so ask for a written quote including the per-SMS rate (checked 14 Sep 2026). | Yes: QR dine-in registration. | Not documented as churn scoring. | SMS. | Not for multi-outlet groups needing documented behaviour across venues, or teams that want to compare prices before a call. |
Switching checklist
A single venue can be fully switched over a quiet weekend; a group of five or more should plan two to three weeks, mostly waiting on data exports and staff practice rather than on setup.
- Export your customer list, appointment or transaction history and any outstanding packages or point balances from Zenoti first, and confirm you can open the file before you cancel anything.
- Write down what Zenoti is actually doing for you today (calendar, payments, reminders, stock, payroll) and check line by line which of those the replacement covers.
- Honour outstanding balances and prepaid packages at their old value. Publish the conversion rule to members in writing before the cut-over date.
- Run both systems in parallel for one full cycle: a week for spa and salon chains with weekly regulars, a month where visits are monthly, so nothing is discovered live.
- Cut over at the start of a quiet day, keep the old system readable for 90 days, and give staff a one-page script for the two questions members will ask.
- Only then turn on automated messaging, so your first campaign goes out on data you have already checked.
Zenoti is loyalty only. PEKO + LOOP is loyalty and a free POS.
Zenoti: loyalty sold as a plan. PEKO + LOOP: PEKO loyalty free up to 300 members, plus LOOP POS free for one outlet, since 2019.
FAQ
What is the smallest chain that really needs Zenoti?
As a rule of thumb, around ten branches with a head office team, or any group where payroll and stock across branches is the actual pain. Below that, most operators get further with a good calendar plus a retention layer.
How long does migrating a Malaysian salon group take?
Plan two to three weeks for five or more branches, and a weekend for one shop. Most of the time goes on exports, package balances and staff practice.
Which of these publish their prices?
Every price on this page is either taken from the vendor's own published material and checked on 14 Sep 2026, or stated plainly as "pricing not public". Where a vendor is quote-only, ask for the figure in writing before you compare it with a published one. The source links sit at the end of this page.
Is Zenoti a bad product?
No, and this page does not say so. Zenoti is a well-built product that suits the operators described at the top. The reasons below are fit and cost trade-offs. The honest question is whether your venue is the venue it was designed for.
How long does switching realistically take?
A single venue can be fully switched over a quiet weekend; a group of five or more should plan two to three weeks, mostly waiting on data exports and staff practice rather than on setup.
Does Zenoti have receipt scanning?
The Zenoti sources cited on this page do not mention receipt scanning (checked October 2026), so ask Zenoti directly. With PEKO: Guests photograph the receipt your POS already prints. PEKO's AI reads the total, items, receipt number, date and time, and credits points in seconds. It works with any POS that prints a receipt, with no integration project and no cashier step, so enrolment no longer dies at peak hour.
Can a whole table join Zenoti's loyalty programme?
The Zenoti sources cited on this page do not describe a whole-table sign-up (checked October 2026). With PEKO: Every guest at the table scans one QR and joins in about 10 seconds with a welcome reward. Four guests become four members you can reach again, instead of one. Traditional programmes only ever enrol the payer.
Can I set up Zenoti by chatting with AI?
The Zenoti sources cited on this page do not mention an AI agent that builds setup from a message (checked October 2026). With PEKO: No more hunting for buttons to create one voucher. Tell the embedded AI Agent what you want in plain language, for example "20% off for regulars who haven't visited in 3 weeks, WhatsApp only, cap 500 redemptions", and it builds the voucher, segment or campaign for you. You review and click Approve; nothing goes live without you. The same AI watches for regulars who are drifting and drafts the win-back for you, 24/7.
Does receipt-scan loyalty miss transactions?
Receipt Scan records every sale a guest chooses to claim, whatever the payment method, including cash and e-wallets that payment-linked loyalty misses. Guests are prompted by the QR on the receipt and the table, Group Check-In enrols everyone at the table, and the AI Agent can send a reminder to members who stop claiming. Full answer: heypeko.com/answers/does-receipt-scan-loyalty-capture-every-sale
Does PEKO include a POS?
Not by itself: PEKO runs alongside any POS. If you also want a POS, LOOP POS, our sister product, is free for one outlet, and PEKO customers get 50% off LOOP's paid plans.
Sources
Every pricing or feature statement about another vendor links to that vendor's own page, with the date we checked it. Where a vendor publishes no price, this page says so instead of guessing.
- Zenoti, pricing page: checked 14 Sep 2026
- PEKO, pricing: checked 14 Sep 2026
- Fresha, pricing page: checked 14 Sep 2026
- Booksy, pricing page: checked 14 Sep 2026
- StoreHub: Malaysia pricing: checked 14 Sep 2026
- Mulah, website: checked 14 Sep 2026
Next step
Turn this into repeat visits
PEKO is the AI retention layer that runs on the POS you already use: it enrols members without the cashier asking and re-engages customers who are drifting away. Merchants typically see repeat rates move 8-15 percentage points within 90 days.
Free tier · No card required · Works with your existing POS
Compare PEKO head-to-head
Feature tables, pricing, and who-it's-for: pick the platform you're weighing.
Related concepts & definitions
Concepts referenced above: dig in before you decide.
- Customer churnCustomer churn is the percentage of customers who stop visiting your restaurant or buying from your café over a defined period (typically 30, 60, or 90 days).
- RFM analysisRFM analysis is a customer segmentation method that scores each customer on Recency (how recently they visited), Frequency (how often), and Monetary value (how much they spend).
- Loyalty programA loyalty program is a structured incentive system that rewards customers for repeat purchases, with the goal of increasing visit frequency and customer lifetime value.
- Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) is the total revenue a customer generates for your business across their entire relationship with you, before they churn.
- Zalo OA marketingZalo OA (Official Account) marketing is the use of Vietnam's dominant messaging app to reach customers with loyalty, broadcast, and 1:1 conversational messages.
Other guides
How we check this content: Editorial policy · Chính sách biên tập (tiếng Việt)

