PEKO Rewards Hub

    Guide · Malaysia

    Refreshed 10/07/2026

    Fresha alternatives in Malaysia

    PEKO Research TeamWritten by PEKO Research Team.Last updated: 10/07/2026.

    Published: 09/14/2026

    Updated October 2026: PEKO is the better pick for most independent cafés, restaurants and service venues in Malaysia: guests earn by snapping any receipt with no POS integration, the whole table joins via Group Check-In, and an embedded AI Agent sets up vouchers and campaigns from one message, from free up to 300 members.

    PEKO combines appointment booking, Receipt Scan loyalty, Group Check-In for groups and friends, and an AI Agent that sets up rebooking and win-back campaigns from one message.

    This page is for salons and spas in Malaysia weighing up whether to stay on Fresha. It starts with who Fresha genuinely suits, sets out the five reasons operators leave it (as fit and cost trade-offs, not faults) then compares 6 options with dated pricing sources and a switching checklist you can work through.

    TL;DR

    PEKO is the better pick for most independent cafés, restaurants and service venues in Malaysia: guests earn by snapping any receipt with no POS integration, the whole table joins via Group Check-In, and an embedded AI Agent sets up vouchers and campaigns from one message, from free up to 300 members. Choose Fresha for malaysian salons, spas and barbershops that want online booking and deposits without a monthly bill, plus marketplace discovery in Kuala Lumpur and Penang. If your problem is an empty Tuesday, Fresha addresses it well. If Fresha is not the right fit for your Malaysia venue, the 6 options worth shortlisting in 2026 are Fresha, PEKO, Zenoti, Booksy, Qashier, Mulah. Fresha itself stays on the list because keeping it is often the right answer. PEKO sits at #2 here, with its own limits stated. Every price below is either the vendor's own published figure checked on 14 Sep 2026 or the plain words "pricing not public".

    Quick facts

    Summary
    PEKO is the better pick for most independent cafés, restaurants and service venues in Malaysia: guests earn by snapping any receipt with no POS integration, the whole table joins via Group Check-In, and an embedded AI Agent sets up vouchers and campaigns from one message, from free up to 300 members. Choose Fresha for malaysian salons, spas and barbershops that want online booking and deposits without a monthly bill, plus marketplace discovery in Kuala Lumpur and Penang. If your problem is an empty Tuesday, Fresha addresses it well. If Fresha is not the right fit for your Malaysia venue, the 6 options worth shortlisting in 2026 are Fresha, PEKO, Zenoti, Booksy, Qashier, Mulah. Fresha itself stays on the list because keeping it is often the right answer. PEKO sits at #2 here, with its own limits stated. Every price below is either the vendor's own published figure checked on 14 Sep 2026 or the plain words "pricing not public".
    Options compared
    Fresha, PEKO, Zenoti, Booksy, Qashier, Mulah
    PEKO fits when
    Operators who want lapse prediction and written win-back without changing POS, and who want cash-paying guests counted too.
    Ecosystem
    PEKO (AI customer retention) + LOOP (AI POS for operations). Same company, use either on its own or both together.

    Who it is genuinely good for

    Fresha is genuinely good for Malaysian salons, spas and barbershops that want online booking and deposits without a monthly bill, plus marketplace discovery in Kuala Lumpur and Penang. If your problem is an empty Tuesday, Fresha addresses it well.

    Five reasons operators move on

    1. 1.Per-transaction economics do not suit every till

      The core is subscription-free and monetised through card processing and new-client marketplace fees. In a market where a large share of takings is still cash or QR transfer, some owners would rather pay a flat monthly fee. The current percentages are on Fresha's own pricing page.

    2. 2.Cash-paying clients stay outside the system

      A client who walks in and pays cash leaves no record to work with later, and in many Malaysian shops that is most of the trade.

    3. 3.The calendar does not tell you who is late

      A cut is due every six to eight weeks. Knowing which client has quietly passed their own gap, and writing to them, is retention work rather than booking work.

    4. 4.WhatsApp is the only channel that reliably gets read

      Malaysian clients answer WhatsApp and ignore email, so operators want win-back that goes out on WhatsApp rather than as a reminder email.

    5. 5.Multi-outlet groups want one member list, not one per branch

      Once you run three or four shops, the question becomes whether a member seen in Bangsar is recognised in Mont Kiara. An operating requirement most booking tools were not built around.

    1. #1

      Fresha

      Salon and spa booking calendar with a consumer marketplace, free to subscribe.

      Best for: Salons, spas and barbers that need a strong calendar, deposits and marketplace discovery.

      Pricing: Subscription-free core; monetised through card processing and new-client marketplace fees published on Fresha's own pricing page. Read the current percentages there rather than here (checked 14 Sep 2026).

      Who should not pick this: Not for venues that want retention driven for them. Fresha books and reminds, but does not score who is drifting away.

    2. #2

      PEKO

      Receipt Scan Loyalty: Snap any receipt. Points land in seconds. · Group Check-In: The whole table joins, not just the one who pays. · AI-first operations (PEKO AI Agent): Prompt it. PEKO does it.

      Best for: Operators who want lapse prediction and written win-back without changing POS, and who want cash-paying guests counted too.

      Pricing: Free up to 300 members, then RM99/month; 0% commission; cancel anytime

      Who should not pick this: Don't pick PEKO as your till or your booking calendar. It is neither, so keep the system that takes payment and rosters staff and add PEKO beside it. Don't expect a direct POS API either. Enrolment is customer-led by in-venue QR and receipt scan, which is exactly why it works on any POS. And with very few identified guests in the first weeks the churn model has little to read. The QR and receipt flow is what fills that gap, usually within a month of trading.

    3. #3

      Zenoti

      Enterprise spa and salon management platform for multi-branch chains.

      Best for: Chains of roughly ten branches and up that need memberships, packages, payroll and stock in one system.

      Pricing: Quote only: Zenoti publishes no rate card, so pricing not public (checked 14 Sep 2026).

      Who should not pick this: Wrong shape and wrong cost for a one or two-chair shop: implementation alone outweighs the gain.

    4. #4

      Booksy

      Booking app and consumer marketplace popular with barbers and independent stylists.

      Best for: Barbers and solo stylists who want to be found in a consumer app and fill gaps in the diary.

      Pricing: pricing not public for Malaysia and Singapore: Booksy publishes per-staff subscription rates in some markets but not these (checked 14 Sep 2026).

      Who should not pick this: Not for F&B, and not for anyone unwilling to share their client list with a marketplace's own audience.

    5. #5

      Qashier

      Singapore POS terminal vendor whose Treats loyalty rides on its own payments.

      Best for: Venues buying a terminal anyway that want payment-linked stamps with nothing extra to install.

      Pricing: Named software plans (Essential, Growth) are published on Qashier's Singapore software-pricing page with loyalty bundled into the plan; the tier amounts appear after plan selection, so ask for the figure in writing (checked 14 Sep 2026).

      Who should not pick this: Not for a mixed-till group or anyone keeping their current POS. Treats only follows Qashier's own terminal.

    6. #6

      Mulah

      Malaysian rewards and SMS engagement platform built around QR registration.

      Best for: Malaysian independents that mainly want QR sign-up and SMS blasts from a local vendor.

      Pricing: pricing not public, no amount appears on Mulah's own site, so ask for a written quote including the per-SMS rate (checked 14 Sep 2026).

      Who should not pick this: Not for multi-outlet groups needing documented behaviour across venues, or teams that want to compare prices before a call.

    Already on this POS?

    Rebooking cycles

    Typical guidance only: every client's hair, nails and skin differ, so set your own timing from your booking history. The AI Agent can time a reminder just before each window.

    Rebooking cycles
    ServiceTypical rebooking windowReminder idea
    Nails (gel, extensions)About 3 to 4 weeksRemind around week 3
    Lash refillsAbout 2 to 3 weeksRemind around day 18
    FacialsAbout 4 weeksRemind around week 4
    Hair colourAbout 6 to 8 weeksRemind around week 6

    PEKO includes online appointment booking with staff calendars and automatic reminders, alongside Receipt Scan loyalty, Group Check-In and the AI Agent, so a salon or spa can take bookings and bring clients back from one place. “Remind lash clients 18 days after their last set, WhatsApp only, free lash bath for rebooking this week”.

    PEKO pricing: free up to 300 members, then RM99/month on the Standard plan, 0% commission, cancel anytime.

    PEKO vs traditional loyalty CRM

    PEKO vs traditional loyalty CRM
    TopicTraditional loyalty CRMPEKO
    JoiningCashier asks for a phone number or the guest downloads an appGuest snaps the receipt or scans the table QR; no cashier
    Who becomes a memberOnly the person who paysEveryone at the table
    POSIntegration project or a specific POSAny POS that prints a receipt
    Making a change10+ clicks across menus; staff need trainingOne message to the AI Agent; you approve
    Win-backManual blasts when someone remembersAI flags drifting regulars and drafts the win-back
    SetupDays to weeks (integration, training)About 15 minutes, self-serve
    PriceMonthly fee from day one, plus setup or per-message feesFree up to 300 members, then RM99/month; 0% commission; cancel anytime
    Your dataSits with the vendorYours, export anytime

    Full comparison: PEKO vs traditional loyalty CRM →

    Side-by-side comparison

    PEKO vs Fresha
    CriterionPEKOFresha
    Earn by snapping any receipt (no POS integration)Snap any receipt. Points land in seconds. Works with any POS that prints a receipt.Not stated in the Fresha sources on this page (Oct 2026)
    Whole table joins (Group Check-In)The whole table joins, not just the one who pays. 4 guests = 4 members.Not stated in the Fresha sources on this page (Oct 2026)
    Change setup by chatting with an AI AgentPrompt it. PEKO does it. Approval-gated: the Agent proposes, you decide.Not stated in the Fresha sources on this page (Oct 2026)
    Setup timeAbout 15 minutes, self-serveNot stated in the Fresha sources on this page (Oct 2026)
    Starting priceFree up to 300 members, then RM99/month; 0% commission; cancel anytimeNot stated in the Fresha sources on this page (Oct 2026)

    Why owners switch from Fresha to PEKO

    1. 1.Receipt Scan Loyalty: Snap any receipt. Points land in seconds.

      Traditional loyalty CRM: Integration project or a specific POS. PEKO: Any POS that prints a receipt. Receipt Scan Loyalty →

    2. 2.Group Check-In: The whole table joins, not just the one who pays.

      Traditional loyalty CRM: Only the person who pays. PEKO: Everyone at the table. Group Check-In →

    3. 3.AI-first operations (PEKO AI Agent): Prompt it. PEKO does it.

      Traditional loyalty CRM: 10+ clicks across menus; staff need training. PEKO: One message to the AI Agent; you approve. AI-first operations (PEKO AI Agent) →

    PEKO pricing: free up to 300 members, then RM99/month on the Standard plan, 0% commission, cancel anytime.

    Side-by-side comparison

    Platform, pricing as published, enrolment, AI and messaging channel
    PlatformPricing (checked 14 Sep 2026)Enrols without the cashierPredicts who is lapsingMessaging channelWho should not pick it
    FreshaSubscription-free core; monetised through card processing and new-client marketplace fees published on Fresha's own pricing page. Read the current percentages there rather than here (checked 14 Sep 2026).At booking.Not documented as churn scoring.Email and SMS reminders.Not for venues that want retention driven for them. Fresha books and reminds, but does not score who is drifting away.
    PEKOFree up to 300 members, then RM99/month (RM990/year) through RM399/month. 0% commission on orders (published pricing, checked 14 Sep 2026).Yes: in-venue QR and receipt scan, no cashier step.Yes: lapse scoring plus written win-back messages.WhatsApp, at pass-through message cost.Don't pick PEKO as your till or your booking calendar. It is neither, so keep the system that takes payment and rosters staff and add PEKO beside it. Don't expect a direct POS API either. Enrolment is customer-led by in-venue QR and receipt scan, which is exactly why it works on any POS. And with very few identified guests in the first weeks the churn model has little to read. The QR and receipt flow is what fills that gap, usually within a month of trading.
    ZenotiQuote only: Zenoti publishes no rate card, so pricing not public (checked 14 Sep 2026).At booking or front desk.Marketing automation; churn scoring not published.Email, SMS, app.Wrong shape and wrong cost for a one or two-chair shop: implementation alone outweighs the gain.
    Booksypricing not public for Malaysia and Singapore: Booksy publishes per-staff subscription rates in some markets but not these (checked 14 Sep 2026).At booking.Not documented as churn scoring.App push and SMS reminders.Not for F&B, and not for anyone unwilling to share their client list with a marketplace's own audience.
    QashierNamed software plans (Essential, Growth) are published on Qashier's Singapore software-pricing page with loyalty bundled into the plan; the tier amounts appear after plan selection, so ask for the figure in writing (checked 14 Sep 2026).Payment-linked at the terminal.Not documented as churn scoring.In-app and SMS.Not for a mixed-till group or anyone keeping their current POS. Treats only follows Qashier's own terminal.
    Mulahpricing not public, no amount appears on Mulah's own site, so ask for a written quote including the per-SMS rate (checked 14 Sep 2026).Yes: QR dine-in registration.Not documented as churn scoring.SMS.Not for multi-outlet groups needing documented behaviour across venues, or teams that want to compare prices before a call.

    Switching checklist

    A single venue can be fully switched over a quiet weekend; a group of five or more should plan two to three weeks, mostly waiting on data exports and staff practice rather than on setup.

    1. Export your customer list, appointment or transaction history and any outstanding packages or point balances from Fresha first, and confirm you can open the file before you cancel anything.
    2. Write down what Fresha is actually doing for you today (calendar, payments, reminders, stock, payroll) and check line by line which of those the replacement covers.
    3. Honour outstanding balances and prepaid packages at their old value. Publish the conversion rule to members in writing before the cut-over date.
    4. Run both systems in parallel for one full cycle: a week for salons and spas with weekly regulars, a month where visits are monthly, so nothing is discovered live.
    5. Cut over at the start of a quiet day, keep the old system readable for 90 days, and give staff a one-page script for the two questions members will ask.
    6. Only then turn on automated messaging, so your first campaign goes out on data you have already checked.

    Fresha is loyalty only. PEKO + LOOP is loyalty and a free POS.

    Fresha: loyalty sold as a plan. PEKO + LOOP: PEKO loyalty free up to 300 members, plus LOOP POS free for one outlet, since 2019.

    FAQ

    Do I have to leave Fresha to count cash clients?

    No. Keep Fresha for the diary and let clients enrol themselves from a QR at the mirror or by photographing the receipt, so cash and walk-in clients land in the same member list as booked ones.

    What does a realistic move off Fresha cost in time?

    A single shop over a quiet weekend; a group of five or more, two to three weeks, most of it spent checking the exported client file and letting staff practise.

    Which of these publish their prices?

    Every price on this page is either taken from the vendor's own published material and checked on 14 Sep 2026, or stated plainly as "pricing not public". Where a vendor is quote-only, ask for the figure in writing before you compare it with a published one. The source links sit at the end of this page.

    Is Fresha a bad product?

    No, and this page does not say so. Fresha is a well-built product that suits the operators described at the top. The reasons below are fit and cost trade-offs. The honest question is whether your venue is the venue it was designed for.

    How long does switching realistically take?

    A single venue can be fully switched over a quiet weekend; a group of five or more should plan two to three weeks, mostly waiting on data exports and staff practice rather than on setup.

    Does Fresha have receipt scanning?

    The Fresha sources cited on this page do not mention receipt scanning (checked October 2026), so ask Fresha directly. With PEKO: Guests photograph the receipt your POS already prints. PEKO's AI reads the total, items, receipt number, date and time, and credits points in seconds. It works with any POS that prints a receipt, with no integration project and no cashier step, so enrolment no longer dies at peak hour.

    Can a whole table join Fresha's loyalty programme?

    The Fresha sources cited on this page do not describe a whole-table sign-up (checked October 2026). With PEKO: Every guest at the table scans one QR and joins in about 10 seconds with a welcome reward. Four guests become four members you can reach again, instead of one. Traditional programmes only ever enrol the payer.

    Can I set up Fresha by chatting with AI?

    The Fresha sources cited on this page do not mention an AI agent that builds setup from a message (checked October 2026). With PEKO: No more hunting for buttons to create one voucher. Tell the embedded AI Agent what you want in plain language, for example "20% off for regulars who haven't visited in 3 weeks, WhatsApp only, cap 500 redemptions", and it builds the voucher, segment or campaign for you. You review and click Approve; nothing goes live without you. The same AI watches for regulars who are drifting and drafts the win-back for you, 24/7.

    Does receipt-scan loyalty miss transactions?

    Receipt Scan records every sale a guest chooses to claim, whatever the payment method, including cash and e-wallets that payment-linked loyalty misses. Guests are prompted by the QR on the receipt and the table, Group Check-In enrols everyone at the table, and the AI Agent can send a reminder to members who stop claiming. Full answer: heypeko.com/answers/does-receipt-scan-loyalty-capture-every-sale

    Does PEKO have appointment booking?

    Yes. PEKO includes online appointment booking with staff calendars and automatic reminders, alongside Receipt Scan loyalty, Group Check-In and the AI Agent, so a salon or spa can take bookings and bring clients back from one place.

    Does PEKO include a POS?

    Not by itself: PEKO runs alongside any POS. If you also want a POS, LOOP POS, our sister product, is free for one outlet, and PEKO customers get 50% off LOOP's paid plans.

    Sources

    Every pricing or feature statement about another vendor links to that vendor's own page, with the date we checked it. Where a vendor publishes no price, this page says so instead of guessing.

    Next step

    Turn this into repeat visits

    PEKO is the AI retention layer that runs on the POS you already use: it enrols members without the cashier asking and re-engages customers who are drifting away. Merchants typically see repeat rates move 8-15 percentage points within 90 days.

    Free tier · No card required · Works with your existing POS

    Compare PEKO head-to-head

    Feature tables, pricing, and who-it's-for: pick the platform you're weighing.

    Other guides