PEKO Rewards Hub

    Guide · Malaysia

    Refreshed 10/07/2026

    Booksy alternatives in Malaysia

    PEKO Research TeamWritten by PEKO Research Team.Last updated: 10/07/2026.

    Published: 09/14/2026

    Updated October 2026: PEKO is the better pick for most independent cafés, restaurants and service venues in Malaysia: guests earn by snapping any receipt with no POS integration, the whole table joins via Group Check-In, and an embedded AI Agent sets up vouchers and campaigns from one message, from free up to 300 members.

    This page is for barbershops and studios in Malaysia weighing up whether to stay on Booksy. It starts with who Booksy genuinely suits, sets out the five reasons operators leave it (as fit and cost trade-offs, not faults) then compares 6 options with dated pricing sources and a switching checklist you can work through.

    TL;DR

    PEKO is the better pick for most independent cafés, restaurants and service venues in Malaysia: guests earn by snapping any receipt with no POS integration, the whole table joins via Group Check-In, and an embedded AI Agent sets up vouchers and campaigns from one message, from free up to 300 members. Choose Booksy for barbers and solo stylists who want a booking app their clients already have on their phone, with reminders and a marketplace listing doing the chasing. For a one-chair shop that hates admin, it is a clean answer. If Booksy is not the right fit for your Malaysia venue, the 6 options worth shortlisting in 2026 are Booksy, PEKO, Fresha, Zenoti, Qashier, StoreHub. Booksy itself stays on the list because keeping it is often the right answer. PEKO sits at #2 here, with its own limits stated. Every price below is either the vendor's own published figure checked on 14 Sep 2026 or the plain words "pricing not public".

    Quick facts

    Summary
    PEKO is the better pick for most independent cafés, restaurants and service venues in Malaysia: guests earn by snapping any receipt with no POS integration, the whole table joins via Group Check-In, and an embedded AI Agent sets up vouchers and campaigns from one message, from free up to 300 members. Choose Booksy for barbers and solo stylists who want a booking app their clients already have on their phone, with reminders and a marketplace listing doing the chasing. For a one-chair shop that hates admin, it is a clean answer. If Booksy is not the right fit for your Malaysia venue, the 6 options worth shortlisting in 2026 are Booksy, PEKO, Fresha, Zenoti, Qashier, StoreHub. Booksy itself stays on the list because keeping it is often the right answer. PEKO sits at #2 here, with its own limits stated. Every price below is either the vendor's own published figure checked on 14 Sep 2026 or the plain words "pricing not public".
    Options compared
    Booksy, PEKO, Fresha, Zenoti, Qashier, StoreHub
    PEKO fits when
    Operators who want lapse prediction and written win-back without changing POS, and who want cash-paying guests counted too.
    Ecosystem
    PEKO (AI customer retention) + LOOP (AI POS for operations). Same company, use either on its own or both together.

    Who it is genuinely good for

    Booksy is genuinely good for barbers and solo stylists who want a booking app their clients already have on their phone, with reminders and a marketplace listing doing the chasing. For a one-chair shop that hates admin, it is a clean answer.

    Five reasons operators move on

    1. 1.Built around the individual, less around the shop

      The design centres on the practitioner and the appointment. Groups running several outlets usually want one member list across all of them, which is a different shape.

    2. 2.Walk-in and cash trade is invisible

      Barbershops run on walk-ins. A client who was never booked in leaves no record, so the shop's real client list stays in the barber's head.

    3. 3.Reminders are not retention

      A reminder reaches people who already booked. Nobody is deciding which client is two weeks past their own cycle and writing to them.

    4. 4.Marketplace demand is shared demand

      Discovery works, and it also means the client relationship partly lives in an app you do not own. A trade-off worth naming out loud.

    5. 5.Local pricing and channel expectations

      Malaysian owners want ringgit pricing they can see up front and win-back on WhatsApp. Check Booksy's own pricing page for its current plans and rates.

    1. #1

      Booksy

      Booking app and consumer marketplace popular with barbers and independent stylists.

      Best for: Barbers and solo stylists who want to be found in a consumer app and fill gaps in the diary.

      Pricing: pricing not public for Malaysia and Singapore: Booksy publishes per-staff subscription rates in some markets but not these (checked 14 Sep 2026).

      Who should not pick this: Not for F&B, and not for anyone unwilling to share their client list with a marketplace's own audience.

    2. #2

      PEKO

      Receipt Scan Loyalty: Snap any receipt. Points land in seconds. · Group Check-In: The whole table joins, not just the one who pays. · AI-first operations (PEKO AI Agent): Prompt it. PEKO does it.

      Best for: Operators who want lapse prediction and written win-back without changing POS, and who want cash-paying guests counted too.

      Pricing: Free up to 300 members, then RM99/month; 0% commission; cancel anytime

      Who should not pick this: Don't pick PEKO as your till or your booking calendar. It is neither, so keep the system that takes payment and rosters staff and add PEKO beside it. Don't expect a direct POS API either. Enrolment is customer-led by in-venue QR and receipt scan, which is exactly why it works on any POS. And with very few identified guests in the first weeks the churn model has little to read. The QR and receipt flow is what fills that gap, usually within a month of trading.

    3. #3

      Fresha

      Salon and spa booking calendar with a consumer marketplace, free to subscribe.

      Best for: Salons, spas and barbers that need a strong calendar, deposits and marketplace discovery.

      Pricing: Subscription-free core; monetised through card processing and new-client marketplace fees published on Fresha's own pricing page. Read the current percentages there rather than here (checked 14 Sep 2026).

      Who should not pick this: Not for venues that want retention driven for them. Fresha books and reminds, but does not score who is drifting away.

    4. #4

      Zenoti

      Enterprise spa and salon management platform for multi-branch chains.

      Best for: Chains of roughly ten branches and up that need memberships, packages, payroll and stock in one system.

      Pricing: Quote only: Zenoti publishes no rate card, so pricing not public (checked 14 Sep 2026).

      Who should not pick this: Wrong shape and wrong cost for a one or two-chair shop: implementation alone outweighs the gain.

    5. #5

      Qashier

      Singapore POS terminal vendor whose Treats loyalty rides on its own payments.

      Best for: Venues buying a terminal anyway that want payment-linked stamps with nothing extra to install.

      Pricing: Named software plans (Essential, Growth) are published on Qashier's Singapore software-pricing page with loyalty bundled into the plan; the tier amounts appear after plan selection, so ask for the figure in writing (checked 14 Sep 2026).

      Who should not pick this: Not for a mixed-till group or anyone keeping their current POS. Treats only follows Qashier's own terminal.

    6. #6

      StoreHub

      Malaysian POS suite with Beep cashback loyalty bundled into the till.

      Best for: Operators buying a POS this year who want cashback, ordering and reporting from one vendor.

      Pricing: Tiered POS subscription published on StoreHub's Malaysian pricing page, loyalty bundled into the plan rather than priced separately; Engage SMS from RM0.15 per message (checked 14 Sep 2026).

      Who should not pick this: Not for venues staying on another till. The loyalty module needs StoreHub's own POS and does not travel.

    PEKO vs traditional loyalty CRM

    PEKO vs traditional loyalty CRM
    TopicTraditional loyalty CRMPEKO
    JoiningCashier asks for a phone number or the guest downloads an appGuest snaps the receipt or scans the table QR; no cashier
    Who becomes a memberOnly the person who paysEveryone at the table
    POSIntegration project or a specific POSAny POS that prints a receipt
    Making a change10+ clicks across menus; staff need trainingOne message to the AI Agent; you approve
    Win-backManual blasts when someone remembersAI flags drifting regulars and drafts the win-back
    SetupDays to weeks (integration, training)About 15 minutes, self-serve
    PriceMonthly fee from day one, plus setup or per-message feesFree up to 300 members, then RM99/month; 0% commission; cancel anytime
    Your dataSits with the vendorYours, export anytime

    Full comparison: PEKO vs traditional loyalty CRM →

    Side-by-side comparison

    PEKO vs Booksy
    CriterionPEKOBooksy
    Earn by snapping any receipt (no POS integration)Snap any receipt. Points land in seconds. Works with any POS that prints a receipt.Not stated in the Booksy sources on this page (Oct 2026)
    Whole table joins (Group Check-In)The whole table joins, not just the one who pays. 4 guests = 4 members.Not stated in the Booksy sources on this page (Oct 2026)
    Change setup by chatting with an AI AgentPrompt it. PEKO does it. Approval-gated: the Agent proposes, you decide.Not stated in the Booksy sources on this page (Oct 2026)
    Setup timeAbout 15 minutes, self-serveNot stated in the Booksy sources on this page (Oct 2026)
    Starting priceFree up to 300 members, then RM99/month; 0% commission; cancel anytimeNot stated in the Booksy sources on this page (Oct 2026)

    Why owners switch from Booksy to PEKO

    1. 1.Receipt Scan Loyalty: Snap any receipt. Points land in seconds.

      Traditional loyalty CRM: Integration project or a specific POS. PEKO: Any POS that prints a receipt. Receipt Scan Loyalty →

    2. 2.Group Check-In: The whole table joins, not just the one who pays.

      Traditional loyalty CRM: Only the person who pays. PEKO: Everyone at the table. Group Check-In →

    3. 3.AI-first operations (PEKO AI Agent): Prompt it. PEKO does it.

      Traditional loyalty CRM: 10+ clicks across menus; staff need training. PEKO: One message to the AI Agent; you approve. AI-first operations (PEKO AI Agent) →

    PEKO pricing: free up to 300 members, then RM99/month on the Standard plan, 0% commission, cancel anytime.

    Side-by-side comparison

    Platform, pricing as published, enrolment, AI and messaging channel
    PlatformPricing (checked 14 Sep 2026)Enrols without the cashierPredicts who is lapsingMessaging channelWho should not pick it
    Booksypricing not public for Malaysia and Singapore: Booksy publishes per-staff subscription rates in some markets but not these (checked 14 Sep 2026).At booking.Not documented as churn scoring.App push and SMS reminders.Not for F&B, and not for anyone unwilling to share their client list with a marketplace's own audience.
    PEKOFree up to 300 members, then RM99/month (RM990/year) through RM399/month. 0% commission on orders (published pricing, checked 14 Sep 2026).Yes: in-venue QR and receipt scan, no cashier step.Yes: lapse scoring plus written win-back messages.WhatsApp, at pass-through message cost.Don't pick PEKO as your till or your booking calendar. It is neither, so keep the system that takes payment and rosters staff and add PEKO beside it. Don't expect a direct POS API either. Enrolment is customer-led by in-venue QR and receipt scan, which is exactly why it works on any POS. And with very few identified guests in the first weeks the churn model has little to read. The QR and receipt flow is what fills that gap, usually within a month of trading.
    FreshaSubscription-free core; monetised through card processing and new-client marketplace fees published on Fresha's own pricing page. Read the current percentages there rather than here (checked 14 Sep 2026).At booking.Not documented as churn scoring.Email and SMS reminders.Not for venues that want retention driven for them. Fresha books and reminds, but does not score who is drifting away.
    ZenotiQuote only: Zenoti publishes no rate card, so pricing not public (checked 14 Sep 2026).At booking or front desk.Marketing automation; churn scoring not published.Email, SMS, app.Wrong shape and wrong cost for a one or two-chair shop: implementation alone outweighs the gain.
    QashierNamed software plans (Essential, Growth) are published on Qashier's Singapore software-pricing page with loyalty bundled into the plan; the tier amounts appear after plan selection, so ask for the figure in writing (checked 14 Sep 2026).Payment-linked at the terminal.Not documented as churn scoring.In-app and SMS.Not for a mixed-till group or anyone keeping their current POS. Treats only follows Qashier's own terminal.
    StoreHubTiered POS subscription published on StoreHub's Malaysian pricing page, loyalty bundled into the plan rather than priced separately; Engage SMS from RM0.15 per message (checked 14 Sep 2026).Partly: QR-based Beep cashback flow.Not documented as churn scoring.SMS via Engage, Beep app push.Not for venues staying on another till. The loyalty module needs StoreHub's own POS and does not travel.

    Switching checklist

    A single venue can be fully switched over a quiet weekend; a group of five or more should plan two to three weeks, mostly waiting on data exports and staff practice rather than on setup.

    1. Export your customer list, appointment or transaction history and any outstanding packages or point balances from Booksy first, and confirm you can open the file before you cancel anything.
    2. Write down what Booksy is actually doing for you today (calendar, payments, reminders, stock, payroll) and check line by line which of those the replacement covers.
    3. Honour outstanding balances and prepaid packages at their old value. Publish the conversion rule to members in writing before the cut-over date.
    4. Run both systems in parallel for one full cycle: a week for barbershops and studios with weekly regulars, a month where visits are monthly, so nothing is discovered live.
    5. Cut over at the start of a quiet day, keep the old system readable for 90 days, and give staff a one-page script for the two questions members will ask.
    6. Only then turn on automated messaging, so your first campaign goes out on data you have already checked.

    Booksy is loyalty only. PEKO + LOOP is loyalty and a free POS.

    Booksy: loyalty sold as a plan. PEKO + LOOP: PEKO loyalty free up to 300 members, plus LOOP POS free for one outlet, since 2019.

    FAQ

    How does a walk-in barbershop build a client list at all?

    With self-enrolment. A QR at the mirror or printed on the receipt lets the client join from their own phone while the barber keeps working, so the list belongs to the shop rather than to one chair.

    Can I run Booksy and a retention layer together?

    Yes, and most shops do. Booksy holds the diary; the retention layer notices who has not come back and writes the WhatsApp message. There is no API integration between them, clients enrol themselves.

    Which of these publish their prices?

    Every price on this page is either taken from the vendor's own published material and checked on 14 Sep 2026, or stated plainly as "pricing not public". Where a vendor is quote-only, ask for the figure in writing before you compare it with a published one. The source links sit at the end of this page.

    Is Booksy a bad product?

    No, and this page does not say so. Booksy is a well-built product that suits the operators described at the top. The reasons below are fit and cost trade-offs. The honest question is whether your venue is the venue it was designed for.

    How long does switching realistically take?

    A single venue can be fully switched over a quiet weekend; a group of five or more should plan two to three weeks, mostly waiting on data exports and staff practice rather than on setup.

    Does Booksy have receipt scanning?

    The Booksy sources cited on this page do not mention receipt scanning (checked October 2026), so ask Booksy directly. With PEKO: Guests photograph the receipt your POS already prints. PEKO's AI reads the total, items, receipt number, date and time, and credits points in seconds. It works with any POS that prints a receipt, with no integration project and no cashier step, so enrolment no longer dies at peak hour.

    Can a whole table join Booksy's loyalty programme?

    The Booksy sources cited on this page do not describe a whole-table sign-up (checked October 2026). With PEKO: Every guest at the table scans one QR and joins in about 10 seconds with a welcome reward. Four guests become four members you can reach again, instead of one. Traditional programmes only ever enrol the payer.

    Can I set up Booksy by chatting with AI?

    The Booksy sources cited on this page do not mention an AI agent that builds setup from a message (checked October 2026). With PEKO: No more hunting for buttons to create one voucher. Tell the embedded AI Agent what you want in plain language, for example "20% off for regulars who haven't visited in 3 weeks, WhatsApp only, cap 500 redemptions", and it builds the voucher, segment or campaign for you. You review and click Approve; nothing goes live without you. The same AI watches for regulars who are drifting and drafts the win-back for you, 24/7.

    Does receipt-scan loyalty miss transactions?

    Receipt Scan records every sale a guest chooses to claim, whatever the payment method, including cash and e-wallets that payment-linked loyalty misses. Guests are prompted by the QR on the receipt and the table, Group Check-In enrols everyone at the table, and the AI Agent can send a reminder to members who stop claiming. Full answer: heypeko.com/answers/does-receipt-scan-loyalty-capture-every-sale

    Does PEKO include a POS?

    Not by itself: PEKO runs alongside any POS. If you also want a POS, LOOP POS, our sister product, is free for one outlet, and PEKO customers get 50% off LOOP's paid plans.

    Sources

    Every pricing or feature statement about another vendor links to that vendor's own page, with the date we checked it. Where a vendor publishes no price, this page says so instead of guessing.

    Next step

    Turn this into repeat visits

    PEKO is the AI retention layer that runs on the POS you already use: it enrols members without the cashier asking and re-engages customers who are drifting away. Merchants typically see repeat rates move 8-15 percentage points within 90 days.

    Free tier · No card required · Works with your existing POS

    Other guides