PEKO vs Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed)
Written by PEKO Research Team.Last updated: 10/07/2026.
Published: 05/23/2026
Updated October 2026: PEKO is the better pick for most independent cafés, restaurants and service venues in Vietnam: guests earn by snapping any receipt with no POS integration, the whole table joins via Group Check-In, and an embedded AI Agent sets up vouchers and campaigns from one message, from free up to 300 members.
Choose Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) if you only need to announce a new branch or seasonal promo to existing fans.
If you already verified your Zalo OA, you can broadcast 4 messages/month free to all fans. So why pay for a platform with ZBS? This page covers exactly what OA broadcast can and cannot do, and where ZBS (and the platform automation on top) starts paying back.
- OA broadcast: free, reach fans only, 4 messages/month quota, no personalisation.
- PEKO + ZBS: 250–550đ/message, reach every Zalo phone number, AI personalised, real-time trigger.
- Most venues use both: OA broadcast for marketing announcements, ZBS for transactional + personalised retention.
What is Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed)? Free Zalo OA broadcast (manually sent from the OA dashboard). The baseline option many F&B/spa venues start with before adopting a platform.
The PEKO ecosystem
PEKO and LOOP are two products from the same company. PEKO is the AI retention layer and runs alongside the POS you already use. LOOP is the AI-native POS that covers operations: recipe-level inventory, staff shifts, table plans and the kitchen display. Each works on its own, and run together they share one dataset, so nothing has to be entered twice. See PEKO + LOOP in one ecosystem
Choose PEKO when
- You want to send personalised 1-to-1 messages (not just broadcast).
- You want to reach customers who haven't followed your OA yet.
- You want AI to write the message body and pick the timing.
- You want win-back / churn / birthday triggers to fire automatically.
- You want per-template attribution: how many bookings, how much revenue.
- You'd rather chat to your loyalty tool than click through 10 dropdowns. PEKO's AI Agent creates vouchers, segments and campaigns for you, and you only click Approve.
Choose Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) when
- You only need to announce a new branch or seasonal promo to existing fans: if basic points really are enough, you don't need PEKO; the thing worth checking is whether the points actually get awarded, because the cashier bottleneck is the most common reason loyalty programmes die (PEKO enrols via receipt OCR and QR, so it never depends on the cashier remembering).
- You have <500 fans and don't have budget for any messaging tool yet: at that size PEKO's free plan already covers you; up to 300 members, so this is not a spend decision either way.
- Your team has time to manually write, segment, and send every campaign: PEKO does not replace that team; the AI Agent only drafts the segments and campaigns for them to approve, which cuts the time without taking away control.
Why owners switch from Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) to PEKO
1.Receipt Scan Loyalty: Snap any receipt. Points land in seconds.
Traditional loyalty CRM: Integration project or a specific POS. PEKO: Any POS that prints a receipt. Receipt Scan Loyalty →
2.Group Check-In: The whole table joins, not just the one who pays.
Traditional loyalty CRM: Only the person who pays. PEKO: Everyone at the table. Group Check-In →
3.AI-first operations (PEKO AI Agent): Prompt it. PEKO does it.
Traditional loyalty CRM: 10+ clicks across menus; staff need training. PEKO: One message to the AI Agent; you approve. AI-first operations (PEKO AI Agent) →
PEKO pricing: free up to 300 members, then 880.000₫/month on the Standard plan, 0% commission, cancel anytime.
Feature by feature
| Feature | PEKO | Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) |
|---|---|---|
| Earn by snapping any receipt (no POS integration) | Snap any receipt. Points land in seconds. Works with any POS that prints a receipt. | Not stated in the Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) sources on this page (Oct 2026) |
| Whole table joins (Group Check-In) | The whole table joins, not just the one who pays. 4 guests = 4 members. | Not stated in the Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) sources on this page (Oct 2026) |
| Change setup by chatting with an AI Agent | Prompt it. PEKO does it. Approval-gated: the Agent proposes, you decide. | Not stated in the Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) sources on this page (Oct 2026) |
| Setup time | About 15 minutes, self-serve | Not stated in the Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) sources on this page (Oct 2026) |
| Starting price | Free up to 300 members, then 880.000₫/month; 0% commission; cancel anytime | Not stated in the Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) sources on this page (Oct 2026) |
| Cost | 250–550đ/message (ZBS) | Free |
| Reach | Every Zalo phone number (with consent) | Fans who follow OA only |
| Monthly quota | Unlimited (pay per message) | 4 broadcasts/month |
| Personalisation | AI writes body from POS data | Same text for all fans |
| Segmentation | RFM + AI churn risk | Manual list filter (limited) |
| Real-time trigger | Yes: fires on event (booking, churn risk, birthday) | Manual send only |
| Automation | Full workflow builder | None |
| A/B test | Built-in split | Manual workaround |
| Analytics | Open / click / revenue attributed | Basic delivery + view |
| Compliance (Decree 13) | Audit log + opt-out tracking | Manual |
| In-product AI Agent that takes actions for you | Yes: chat to create vouchers, segments, campaigns and settings; approval-gated (you click Approve) | No: manual clicks through dashboards and dropdowns |
| Can customers self-enrol without a cashier? | Yes: customers scan a table/receipt QR or photograph the bill and PEKO's OCR credits points automatically. Cashier is out of the enrolment loop. | Not clear from public documentation |
| Can it earn points from other POS receipts? | Yes: AI OCR reads receipts from any POS (KiotViet, iPOS, Sapo, MISA, PosApp, Toast, Square). No POS swap or API required. | Not clear from public documentation |
| Can someone who did not pay join? | Yes: anyone present scans the in-venue QR to join and receives a joining reward | Not stated in public documentation |
| Redeem rewards on online orders? | Yes: the same balance redeems online and in-store | Not stated in public documentation |
| How many automated message types? | 10 types, including points- and voucher-expiry reminders | Not stated in public documentation |
| Abuse controls when customers claim their own points? | Yes: rate limits, receipt age and value thresholds, 90-day brand-wide duplicate-image matching, risk-tiered actions | Not stated in public documentation |
Earn by snapping any receipt (no POS integration)
Snap any receipt. Points land in seconds. Works with any POS that prints a receipt.
Not stated in the Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) sources on this page (Oct 2026)
Whole table joins (Group Check-In)
The whole table joins, not just the one who pays. 4 guests = 4 members.
Not stated in the Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) sources on this page (Oct 2026)
Change setup by chatting with an AI Agent
Prompt it. PEKO does it. Approval-gated: the Agent proposes, you decide.
Not stated in the Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) sources on this page (Oct 2026)
Setup time
About 15 minutes, self-serve
Not stated in the Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) sources on this page (Oct 2026)
Starting price
Free up to 300 members, then 880.000₫/month; 0% commission; cancel anytime
Not stated in the Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) sources on this page (Oct 2026)
Cost
250–550đ/message (ZBS)
Free
Reach
Every Zalo phone number (with consent)
Fans who follow OA only
Monthly quota
Unlimited (pay per message)
4 broadcasts/month
Personalisation
AI writes body from POS data
Same text for all fans
Segmentation
RFM + AI churn risk
Manual list filter (limited)
Real-time trigger
Yes: fires on event (booking, churn risk, birthday)
Manual send only
Automation
Full workflow builder
None
A/B test
Built-in split
Manual workaround
Analytics
Open / click / revenue attributed
Basic delivery + view
Compliance (Decree 13)
Audit log + opt-out tracking
Manual
In-product AI Agent that takes actions for you
Yes: chat to create vouchers, segments, campaigns and settings; approval-gated (you click Approve)
No: manual clicks through dashboards and dropdowns
Can customers self-enrol without a cashier?
Yes: customers scan a table/receipt QR or photograph the bill and PEKO's OCR credits points automatically. Cashier is out of the enrolment loop.
Not clear from public documentation
Can it earn points from other POS receipts?
Yes: AI OCR reads receipts from any POS (KiotViet, iPOS, Sapo, MISA, PosApp, Toast, Square). No POS swap or API required.
Not clear from public documentation
Can someone who did not pay join?
Yes: anyone present scans the in-venue QR to join and receives a joining reward
Not stated in public documentation
Redeem rewards on online orders?
Yes: the same balance redeems online and in-store
Not stated in public documentation
How many automated message types?
10 types, including points- and voucher-expiry reminders
Not stated in public documentation
Abuse controls when customers claim their own points?
Yes: rate limits, receipt age and value thresholds, 90-day brand-wide duplicate-image matching, risk-tiered actions
Not stated in public documentation
Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) is loyalty only. PEKO + LOOP is loyalty and a free POS.
Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed): loyalty sold as a plan. PEKO + LOOP: PEKO loyalty free up to 300 members, plus LOOP POS free for one outlet, since 2019.
From your chat request to a live merchant setup, 5 steps.
Here's the before/after workflow: the strikethrough line is how other tools make you do it, the line below is how PEKO's AI Agent does it for you.
Click a step to run it in the demo below.
Sample prompt
“20% off weekday lunch for lapsed diners we haven't seen in 30 days, cap 1 per customer.”
Ready-to-paste voucher request: drop it straight into the AI Agent chat.
Questions merchants ask at each step
Ask, review, approve.
Describe the voucher you want in one sentence. PEKO's AI Agent drafts the full configuration; you approve it with one click, no 10-step form.
Your request
Or try one of these:
Proposed voucher
FAQ
Is OA broadcast really free?
Yes, but limited to 4 broadcasts/month to fans who follow your OA. You can't broadcast to non-fans, can't personalise text per fan, and can't trigger automatically on events.
Can I just use OA broadcast and skip ZBS?
Yes, if you're happy reaching only your existing fans with a generic message 4 times/month. The moment you need to reach customers who haven't followed your OA, send a personalised reminder, or trigger something on a real-time event, you need ZBS.
How do PEKO + ZBS and OA broadcast work together?
Most venues use both: OA broadcast for marketing announcements (new branch, seasonal promo, store hour change), and ZBS through PEKO for everything personalised (booking confirm, appointment reminder, birthday voucher, win-back). PEKO orchestrates both from one dashboard.
Does the platform PEKO charge for OA broadcast on top of free?
No. OA broadcasts sent through PEKO remain free. You only pay PEKO's software subscription. ZBS messages are billed at Zalo's official per-message price, no markup.
What's the smallest venue that benefits from ZBS over free OA broadcast?
Roughly any venue with ≥300 active customers/month. Below that, free OA broadcast usually covers your retention needs. Above ~300 active customers, the lift from personalised ZBS (no-show reduction, win-back, birthday) usually pays for itself in 2–4 weeks.
Do I still need to learn a complicated dashboard?
No. PEKO's embedded AI Agent takes actions for you (creating vouchers, building segments, drafting campaigns) inside the product. You describe what you want in chat, the Agent configures it, and you only click Approve. The full dashboard is there when you want it, but on any given day you can run PEKO by messaging the Agent.
Does Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) have receipt scanning?
The Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) sources cited on this page do not mention receipt scanning (checked October 2026), so ask Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) directly. With PEKO: Guests photograph the receipt your POS already prints. PEKO's AI reads the total, items, receipt number, date and time, and credits points in seconds. It works with any POS that prints a receipt, with no integration project and no cashier step, so enrolment no longer dies at peak hour.
Can a whole table join Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed)'s loyalty programme?
The Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) sources cited on this page do not describe a whole-table sign-up (checked October 2026). With PEKO: Every guest at the table scans one QR and joins in about 10 seconds with a welcome reward. Four guests become four members you can reach again, instead of one. Traditional programmes only ever enrol the payer.
Can I set up Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) by chatting with AI?
The Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) sources cited on this page do not mention an AI agent that builds setup from a message (checked October 2026). With PEKO: No more hunting for buttons to create one voucher. Tell the embedded AI Agent what you want in plain language, for example "20% off for regulars who haven't visited in 3 weeks, Zalo only, cap 500 redemptions", and it builds the voucher, segment or campaign for you. You review and click Approve; nothing goes live without you. The same AI watches for regulars who are drifting and drafts the win-back for you, 24/7.
Does receipt-scan loyalty miss transactions?
Receipt Scan records every sale a guest chooses to claim, whatever the payment method, including cash and e-wallets that payment-linked loyalty misses. Guests are prompted by the QR on the receipt and the table, Group Check-In enrols everyone at the table, and the AI Agent can send a reminder to members who stop claiming. Full answer: heypeko.com/answers/does-receipt-scan-loyalty-capture-every-sale
Does PEKO include a POS?
Not by itself: PEKO runs alongside any POS. If you also want a POS, LOOP POS, our sister product, is free for one outlet, and PEKO customers get 50% off LOOP's paid plans.
People also read
Comparator
PEKO vs Bizfly CRM
Bizfly CRM is a broad Vietnamese marketing/CRM suite from VCCorp covering email, SMS, landing pages, chat, and pipeline CRM. PEKO is the AI-native retention layer focused specifically on F&B and retail churn, narrower, deeper, POS-native.
Comparator
PEKO vs Bizfly Loyalty
Bizfly Loyalty is the loyalty module of VCCorp's broader Bizfly marketing suite, sold to enterprise marketing teams. PEKO is the AI-native, F&B-specific retention layer that runs out of the box on your existing POS. This page compares them feature by feature.
Comparator
PEKO vs CNV Loyalty
CNV Loyalty is a popular Vietnamese loyalty platform built for 20+ outlet chains. PEKO is the AI-native pick for independents and mid-sized chains that want retention on autopilot. This page compares them feature by feature so you can pick the right one.
Sources & citations
These public sources support the competitor pricing, feature, and limitation claims in this comparison.
- Zalo OA: Official product information
Zalo OA broadcast and account capabilities.
- Zalo Cloud: ZNS official documentation
ZNS transactional messaging, template, and pricing framework.
- PEKO: Plans and pricing
PEKO free-plan, paid-plan, and included-feature claims used in the comparison.
How we compare
Every comparison on this site is written from a fair market analyst stance, no hit pieces, no puffery.
- Public materials first. Competitor pricing, feature, and limitation claims are sourced from their own website, marketing collateral, and public reviews (Capterra, G2, App Store). See the Sources & citations block above.
- Acknowledge real strengths. Each page includes a "Choose Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed) when" block that names the scenarios where the competitor is genuinely the better pick.
- Same feature grid. Every comparator uses the same feature axes (pricing, setup time, messaging channel, churn prediction, data ownership, and more) so you can read across vendors on the same grid.
- Refreshed when the market moves. This page was last updated on 10/07/2026. Spot a stale claim after a competitor pricing or feature change? Email hello@heypeko.com and we'll refresh it.
- No pay-to-rank. We take no payment from competitors to shape rankings or hide weaknesses. If you spot bias, tell us and we'll rewrite the section.
Ready to try PEKO instead of Zalo OA broadcast (self-managed)?
Start free in 15 minutes, or book a 15-minute demo and we'll run the AI Agent on a sample of your data so you can see the churn saves live.
Compare PEKO with the rest
How we check this content: Editorial policy · Chính sách biên tập (tiếng Việt)

